top of page

What to expect for Christmas

Christmas is one of my all-time favorite times of the year because I love picking out gifts for my friends and family. This year I am trying to make my gifts extra special because there is a chance I won't make it home for the holidays the next two years.

1. Journals

I have recently gotten back into journaling about my everyday life. I am pro-journal all the way and think it is a good channel to express your feelings. Even though I do end up forcing myself to journal every now and then, it is good for reflecting back on situations. So this year I am giving two of my friend's journals so they can vent and write down stuff to tell me when I can get in touch. Papyrus has an amazing variety of journals and stationary- it's pretty awesome.

For your sassy, Gatsby loving friend: New York Broadway Glamour @ Papyrus

For the chic in your life: 'Chic Happens' Mint Journal by Kate Spade @ Papyrus

For your mysterious and fashionable bff: Blue Muse Midi Journal by Paperblanks @ Papyrus

2. Books

Since the summer I have read more books than I have in my entire life put together. So you can say books have been an addiction of mine recently. Whether it is intended to inspire one friend on their own writing or just for pure entertainment, as long as you pick wisely, you can't go wrong.

For lovers of mystery and thrill: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series (Don't forget about the new book that came out: The Girl in the Spider's Web)

For the young gossiper: The Summer I turned Pretty trilogy

For the traveler at heart: Eat, Pray, Love (I know it's not the newest book on the market, but it just speaks to me.)

For the sassy jokester: Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? (shout out to my friend, Tina, who let me borrow her copy)

3. Small Keepsakes/ Random Stocking Stuffers

This is where I'm going to out all the random gifts you usually find under my tree. Whether it's a meaningful picture or goofy socks, getting a few random items can make the best gifts. Some of the random items I get include: CANDLES CANDLES CANDLES, scarfs, funny socks, coffee mugs, and lipstick. Also this section is helpful regarding gifts for guys, when in doubt and look at Urban Outfitters, they always have funny stocking stuffers.

For the cat lover (I must have a ton of cat lover friends because it's making the list again): Kitty Tea Mug @ Urban Outfitters

For anyone because socks are awesome: @ Forever 21

For the trendy guys: Marled Knit Beanie @ Urban Outfitters

For the guy who thinks he's a DJ: DKnight Magicbox Portable Speaker @ Amazon

This year I am thinking of getting cheesy 'best friend' keychains, because who doesn't love adding on to your already HUGE collection.

4. Tickets to an Event

My mom's gift is the hardest on the list to come up with. She's one of those people who has basically everything, so I try to get her something we can go out and do. Pretty much everything except an actual physical object. In the past, I have given her spa massages and mani pedis. But this year I wanted to do something different, so when I saw that The Sound of Music was coming to the Fox Theater I jumped with glee. Lets' hope she enjoys it because I know that I will. Whether it's a play or a cooking class, interactive experiences are an easy gift for the person who has everything.

5. An orignal painting by yours truly

I don't know if I mentioned it but I try to be as artsy fartsy as possible, so don't be surprised if your gift is something I have painted. One reason I love giving canvases is that they aren't too hard on your wallet and it's personalized. I always make them specific for the person I'm giving it to- Pinterest is great for inspiration.

For the trippy, cat obsessed spirits (and again)

For the bright and floral loving

For the friend that's just as artsy as you

6. Letter/Card

Last but the most important part of a gift to me, is the meaningful letter that gets tossed in. Over the years I have become somewhat known for my letters- or at least that's what I tell myself. For important occasions or just anytime really, I like to put all my feelings into writing. So of course I wouldn't give someone a gift without my own personal touch.

When it comes to gifts: small and meaningful > large and extravagant

xoxo,

chels

Categories

Disclaimer: The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps

  • White Instagram Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Facebook Icon
bottom of page