top of page

Week One Update

So here we go. I’m going to try to post once a week but we will see how that goes. This past week was one of those odd ones where each day last a lifetime, but now looking back on it whoa did it fly by. I arrived in my town, Chaclacayo, on Saturday and since then I don’t think I have really had more than an hour of time to myself by myself. But hey I am not complaining, it has been amazing. I can’t explain how amazing the people are, both in my program and the Peruvians I am living with and meeting along the way. I don’t think I’ve ever met a group that is more inspiring and interesting; everyone in my group has done so many amazing things and we all have similar interest. I can’t wait to get to continue getting closer to everyone. When we aren’t in classes you can find some playing football in the back and others chatting in the common room and you will probably find me trying to become a singer on the front walkway with people that are actually musically talented. I am also always trying to get pictures of everyone in my own candid way. But out of the pictures you will probably get used to seeing the following (no specific order):

Shannon- She’s a diva and the sock bun princess, she’s from San Diego and is always there to talk to including when we should be paying attention to class.

Katie- she’s taught me what the ‘U.P.’ is and that’s really important to know guys! She gets pooped on by birds and she is now a dedicated horoscope reader/follower

Spenser- if you are ever lost look for the girl with the silver hair, but you shouldn’t always trust her directions sometimes she just gets so determined to find a piece of cake that she completely forgets how she got there the previous night

Kevin- first impression of him was bringing lunch to our table for staging and by lunch I mean cookies, bacon, cheese, and nuts. If you don’t want to take him home to your momma you are out of your mind. *actually musically talented

Davis- all around genuine guy, sorta goes with what I said about Kev your mom would be jumping for joy. I already know he is the person to run to when I am questioning why I left home because he is so optimistic and positive.

Amelia- our own personal lawyer straight outta Nebraska who will surprise you when she knows every word to every 50 cent song. You can take the girl out of the ghetto but you can’t take the ghetto out of the girl

Chris- he’s a butt face that laughs when you fall but at the end of the day shares his beer with you. He is all about fishing and draws jellyfish on my notes. FIREHOSE *actually musically talented

Nick- he has an unforgettable laugh and is always down to take over a combi and make it into a dance floor.

Brandon- wise beyond his years, I feel like he is always talking about something interesting which makes me migrate towards him during lunch. Also, he only checked ONE bag but that might be because he spent his last few years living in China! *musically talented

I am missing so many amazing people, but I will try to get the most done before training is over :(

Now lets talk about my amazing familia, they are so loving and supporting and are constantly trying to help me with my Spanish. I am their 4th volunteer so they aren’t newbies, lucky for me. I have a mom, dad, 2 sisters, and a brother.

-mi mama (Irene) has 14 siblings and is from Cajamarca. I’m pretty sure she told me she was a nurse (who knows what I understand and don’t these days) but now she has her restaurant that is open during the afternoon.

- I still have a lot to learn about my papa I know he doesn’t have 14 siblings hahah but he does speak some Qechua

- Leslie is my oldest sister (14) she loves to sing and on the weekends we sing karaoke in her room. She also plays handball and has a shared love for Shawn Mendes.

-Jose Tonyo (10) is definitely a jokester and likes to play futbol. He also likes hiking with su papa and going to the beach. Cat lover

-Karo (8) she is a crazy girl who loves dulces and to paint. Also, she just told me that she likes to eat so basically we share that hobby.

Fun facts/things that I learned this week:

-There are 44 of us in my group and guess how many applied…. 900!!!!! WHAT?!?! My mind was actually blown and quickly filled with questions including, ‘why me?’

-Never trust a fart

-More on the previous topic: the number one topic discussed by far is shitting ourselves

-They eat a lot of soup aka I’m in heaven

-That it is always smart to shower right after walking home so I can work up a sweat before facing the cold water

Things I did this week:

-started training

-had my first pisco sour

-observed a classroom aka felt like a celeb and got asked to be a God mother

-learned how to do laundry by hand

-watched the conjuring for the first time after telling my sister I hate scary movies

-heard my first cat fight

-got stuck in a cactus/tree “I’m stuck in a tree”

-went to a bar and sang and danced the night away… well atleast till 9:30

-went to church and like usual didn’t understand anything but atleast this time my cover up was that I didn’t understand because it was in Spanish

-talked to strangers on the street about the Peace Corps… come at me with your questions I GOT CHU


Categories

Disclaimer: The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps

  • White Instagram Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Facebook Icon
bottom of page