top of page

Salud to the next 122

I know it’s been a while, between all the knitting and having little, if any, projects at work, I have been taking some time to relax and get used to my new life. I’ve officially gone without taco bell, sour raspberry beer (miss you 3tavs), cheetos, and basically any vast variety of food for 122 days. But in these 122 days I have… meet great people, became a part of two Peruvian families, fallen in love with Rafaga (I would never leave you, don’t worry), learned a new hobby and life saver in the sierra (homegirl has knitted 3 scarves), made an absolute fool of myself in front of the mayor (but laughed about it and made my way back to the muni, after crying about it of course), was asked to help with two events related to my job, got fleas, thought I got rid of the fleas but in the end I didn’t, felt three earthquakes, been attacked by bugs in the selva (HBD TRENT U ROCK but your bugs suck), started training for a half marathon (we will see how that goes), finished my first painting here (flowers por supuesto), had soup for every meal one day, I’ve watched the majority of Modern Family, Downton Abbey, and HIMYM, turned into someone who can handle children (I know surprising right, you’re looking at Tia Chelsita), and so much more but I fear if I continue with this sentence I will be writing my own spoof version of The Infinite Jest (nice reference right, B-Dawg).

So instead I will somewhat try to give you an idea of what I am doing here in Tarma. The main goal for the first three months is to integrate into the community. Since I am the first volunteer in my site the integration period is expected to take a little longer. The job for the first volunteer in site is to build a foundation/ make a path or in my words construct a yellow brick road for the next volunteers. Also, all volunteers use their first three months to make a community diagnostic which includes surveys, interviews, and lotsa meetings opening with ‘Muy Buenos días, me llamo Chelsie Moore y soy una voluntaria de Cuerpo de Paz. Cuerpo de Paz es una organización de los Estados Unidos…..” You get where I’m going. So first off my program is Community Economic Development and it has three main goals: business advising, economic opportunity with youth and women, and financial education. So ideally I will be:

-helping with economic and social projects (I was asked to participate in two bigger community events, one about exportation and the other about tourism. Also, I helped with a longboarding event with kids from all over Junín.)

-advising some small businesses or associations

-teaching adolescents how to make business plans (I have had meetings with some of the directors of the schools and institutes here about starting classes.)

-helping women’s groups with profit gaining opportunities (I had my first meeting with Vaso de Leche, a group who gives breakfast to children in need.)

-teaching financial education

-starting community banks (aye all of the people in the Vaso de Leche meeting were interested in starting one)

So far the majority of time outside my house is spent at the municipality. My desk is located in the Office of Social and Economic Development, and even though its technically my second month in Tarma I still don’t know the names of the people that work in my office. But hey one day at a time. Most of my work with the municipality is with the Office of Tourism, for example some days I walk around with someone giving invitations to businesses for an Exportation event that is happening. Other days I sit at my desk and surf facebook, download knitting videos, and look up my horoscope- don’t wanna hear it the muni is the only place I get internet in town. What is important is to be present, I am usually always available to the people in the municipality in the mornings atleast.

In reality work is fun and all but what really makes my days so nice is my family. My mom, China (what she likes being called), is the cutest she is so kind and always laughs and claps when I ask for more food or serve myself. My sister, Guisela, enjoys dancing and is my guide to the events in town. My niece, I call her Chumi, she’s just as crazy as your average two year old but being able to teach her little things like doing the vampire when you need to cough or sneeze is precious. My nephew, Jean Piere aka my best friend, is six years old and is the sweetest kid. He loves to make me proud by singing the color song that I taught him. It’s amazing seeing how much I have taught them already within a month. Let’s just say I brought my southern hospitality and manners with me to Peru, amazing I know because I never considered myself proper or a southern belle. Well watch out world, this Georgia Peach has sure made an impact in my little (lol) town in Peru, sorta.

Salud to the next 122 days

Sending good vibes always

Categories

Disclaimer: The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps

  • White Instagram Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Facebook Icon
bottom of page