top of page

When you knit, I knit, We knit

It shouldn’t be surprising that knitting goes down to the core of Andean culture. Now that I am living in the sierras of Peru with some free time on my hands, knitting has been one of my main hobbies.

I have been able to use my love for all things crafty to integrate into this community filled with plenty of women knitting. No lie, it’s not possible to leave your house and not see someone knitting while walking down the road or by their stand in the mercado. After my three weeks for site exploration in Junín, not only the crisp weather but the culture for it showed me that knitting would be in my future. I did dabble a little in crocheting when I was in college so I knew I was ready.

It was funny to me that after talking to a few people after our first few weeks they all had either ‘an ice cream guy’, ‘juice lady,’ and well I had my yarn lady. So far I have knitted 7 scarfs and the majority are all gifts because I know I wouldn’t be able to do my normal Christmas presents this year. I would love to share some of my go to patterns along the way :)

Like always sending good vibes

Categories

Disclaimer: The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps

  • White Instagram Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Facebook Icon
bottom of page