top of page

Intercambio de Culturas con Ninos Nov/Dec

Since I didn’t have time last month to talk about my intercambio from November, I’m going to combine two months for this post. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday so I was really looking forward to talking to the kids about what they were grateful for.

The topics I went over:

November

-History: Pilgrims and Indians

-Thanksgiving food (I missed it so much)

-Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade and the Dog Show

In Peru, Thanksgiving isn't commonly celebrates or taken as seriously as we do in the States. However, we talked about who and what they were grateful for.

December

-Santa Claus

-Activities: Sledding, snowman, snow angels, decorating Christmas tree, making cookies, ect.

-Christmas movies (traditions come on, who doesn’t love a good Christmas movie): The Grinch, Rudolph, and the other classics)

-How other religions celebrate during December

Here Christmas season is celebrated with paneton (it sortof reminds me of fruitcake, it is a cake with gummy fruit pieces) and hot chocolate. Peru, is now the third largest consumer of this sweet bread behind Italy and Argentina.

For the craft part we made turkeys out of toilet paper rolls J After last time, I went in with everything already cut and prepared to make for a smooth sailing craft sesh. While I was going around with the glue stick, I had the kids working on an ‘I’m grateful for…’ worksheet. I loved seeing their answers and some even did drawings instead. For the December craft we made an ornament that I have made many times with my mom’s class- a tongue depressor snowman.

I enjoyed the craft so much I decided to also make them with my nephew and niece:)

Categories

Disclaimer: The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps

  • White Instagram Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Facebook Icon
bottom of page